Foundation hoarder #1

DSCF5703I am self-declared foundation hoarder. I think it is the make-up item I get most excited about and I am always writing lists of foundations to try. In the case of lipsticks or blushes, it makes sense wanting to have different shades, finishes and so on but there is no explanation for owning so many foundations; it is just an addiction. These are just four of the (too) many I have and I will be reviewing them little by little, expect more installments in the future.

I talked about the NARS Pure Radiant Tinted Moisturizer here, so I will only say that it is a fantastic base, good coverage for a tinted moisturizer and it is healthy skin in a tube basically. Chanel Vitalumière Aqua has been on my wishlist for ages and I bought it a few months ago. It is extremely lightweight and almost invisible on the skin yet it manages to make your skin look like a million dollars. It does not provide a lot of coverage, i.e. it won’t cover marks or blemishes, but the effect is amazing and makes up for it. The only thing with this foundation is that it is fragranced; bear that in mind if this breaks you out. Moving on to the famous MAC F&B, it is another win for me. I was scared after reading stories of so many people suffering breakouts from this but so far (fingers crossed) my skin likes it. It is the one with the lightest coverage but it can be built up. There are tons of reviews about this foundation so I will keep it short. It is reaaallyyy lightweight; if you only apply one layer of it you won’t notice much difference although your skin will look more even. The best thing about it is that you can build it up in layers until you get the desired coverage, although I would say you cannot get full coverage with it. However, the finish of it is so natural and dewy that I don’t mind using concealer here and there.

Now, I cannot rave about Laura Mercier Mineral Powder Foundation as much as I did with the previous ones. Coverage is impressive and the finish is very luminous and just beautiful. However, it emphasizes the pores around my nose like hell. I really like how it looks on the skin and I still use from time to time. However, whenever I use it, I cannot skip primer and I usually put some setting powder on top of it on the T zone to avoid the massively visible pores. It is definitely not my favourite foundation but it is still a good one if I invest a little bit more time on application. This might work better for you if you have less visible pores or more normal/dry skin. Both my girlfriend and I have this foundation; I have oily/combination skin, she has normal/dry skin and it works much better on her so if you have same skin type it might work for you.

Finally, just to give you an idea about shades, I am C1 in MAC F&B, B10 in Chanel Vitalumière Aqua and Finland in the NARS Tinted Moisturizer. These shades are more or less equivalent and they lean towards yellow undertones. In the LM Mineral Powder I wear Real Sand and I think this shade is ever so slightly darker and has a more neutral undertone.

I hope this was helpful if you are interested in any of these! Which are your favourite foundations?

