The Battle of the Tinted Moisturizers

DSCF6286If you are experiencing a heat and humidity wave where you live, I understand what you are going through. For the last couple of weeks humidity in my city has been close to 90% most days and I just can’t even think about the feeling of putting a thick foundation on my face. I have been reaching for tinted moisturizers everyday and I think I am ready to give my opinion on these pictured above:

Laura Mercier Oil-Free Tinted Moisturizer: I used to have the normal version but I much prefer this one because it has a little bit more coverage and it keeps my face shine-free for longer without being completely matte. Coverage is light but the finish is just beautiful. If you have read my blog before you probably know already that if I say beautiful it means dewy/luminous finish without making you look shiny . I did a review on the Laura Mercier TM here if you want to read it.

NARS Pure Radiant Tinted Moisturizer: this one is very similar to the Laura Mercier TM, you definitely don’t need both, but I would say if your skin is oily or combination but you don’t like dewy finishes, this one is not for you. It is more hydrating that the LM TM so I have to powder a bit more with this one. However,  I still love the finish on my skin so I don’t mind. It has an SPF 30 which is a plus for summer!

Jouer Matte Moisture Tint: I think this product is genius! It has more coverage than the previous two and it is similar in consistency to the Laura Mercier Silk Creme Foundation, but obviously has less coverage than this one; more like a light coverage foundation that a tinted moisturizer. If you have oily skin/combination skin with a preference for more matte finishes, you are going to love this one. It is matte but it won’t make your face look flat at all, it is just beautiful on the skin.

Dr. Jart+ BB Cream: it is my least favourite of them all just because I have to powder more when I use this base. In terms of coverage and finish (satin/dewy/luminous, I never know which of these 3 to choose), it is very similar to the Laura Mercier and NARS tinted moisturizers, so upon application I really love how it sits on my skin but after a while I have to check to see if i have to powder; and I really can’t be bother to check if I am shiny every hour. Maybe in winter this will work better for me so my advice right now for summer is that if you have oily/combination skin like me maybe this one is not the one for you, any of the other 3 would be a safer bet. 

I didn’t include this one in the photo because it is not exactly a tinted moisturizer, but a budget option for light summer bases is Bourjois Happy Light Foundation (review here). It is very affordable and very light on the skin, if the scent doesn’t break you out, it is the best option for a budget summer foundation.

I hope this was helpful and thanks for reading!

