Sugar: yes or no?

DSCF5570

First things first: I am not a doctor or a nutritionist or a beauty expert, I am just passing down some advice my doctor gave me a while ago. Exam season is close for many of us so I thought this could be a good moment to talk about this.

Usually, when young people want to loose some weight or, in relation to the beauty world, watch out for the condition of their skin, the first thing we do is cut down on sugar. Two years ago I wanted to go on a diet and I asked my doctor for advice. The first thing he told me was something like this: “If you are a student, don’t stop taking sugar, that is the first thing young people normally do and it is actually the worst thing you can do to your brain”. Our brain needs glucose to work and also, although to a lesser extent, does the rest of our body. Media is always telling us, especially women, all the diets we need to do so that our bodies and skin look awesome. What I think is that you should do what is good for your mind and body. A healthy and balanced diet is all you need so don’t let society tell you what you should do or how you should look. Taking foods that naturally contain sugar in a moderate way is going to help your brain be in perfect condition for those never-ending days in the library.

Remember: extremes are never good and your mind is the most important thing and what really defines who you are šŸ™‚

Good luck for you exams everybody!

