The new buffing brush

DSCF5439

Zoeva 102 Silk Finish- Real Techniques Buffing Brush

DSCF5440

Zoeva 102 Silk Finish- Real Techniques Buffing Brush

Real Techniques Buffing Brush (from the Core Collection) is one of my favourites for applying lightweight foundations and tinted moisturizers. However, I don’t think it works that well for heavier foundations such as MAC Studio Sculpt or Laura Mercier Silk Creme because it is not dense enough to distribute the product evenly. I recently found a very similar brush but with more bristles and more compact which works wonders for your lighter and also heavier bases. If you like the “buffing movement” for applying foundations you might like this one. It is the 102 Silk Finish brush by Zoeva, a brand that has been getting more recognition recently it the beauty blogsphere.

DSCF5441

Zoeva 102 Silk Finish- Real Techniques Buffing Brush

DSCF5442

Zoeva 102 Silk Finish- Real Techniques Buffing Brush

DSCF5443

Zoeva 102 Silk Finish- Real Techniques Buffing Brush

Both brushes do a similar job but I find the Zoeva one works great for all types of bases because it is more dense and compact from the base of the bristles if that makes sense, which is perfect when working the product into the skin. What I find annoying when applying heavier bases with the RT Buffing Brush is that it has less “strength” and it feel as if it were just moving product around my face and not distributing it evenly.

DSCF5447

Zoeva 102 Silk Finish- Real Techniques Buffing Brush

Both brushes are great quality but, if like me, you feel that you need a different tool for heavy foundations, the Zoeva 102 Silk Finish brush could be a good option.

I ordered mine from Maquillalia during my vacation in Spain in December, a Spanish online store with unbeatable prices and an amazing and fast service (I received my order in 2 days (!) and I’ve seen in the webpage that they now ship to countries in the EU so it might be worth checking it). You can also get it from the Zoeva online store here. The brush retails for 10,50€ in both sites.

I love finding affordable brushes! I have a couple more from the brand so I will do a post about them in the future.

