Bourjois Foundations, which one to choose?

Healthy Mix Serum 52- Healthy Mix 52- Happy Light 50

Healthy Mix Serum 52- Healthy Mix 52- Happy Light 50

DSCF4975

Bourjois Healthy Mix Serum in 52 Vanilla
Bourjois Healthy Mix in 52 Vanilla
Bourjois Happy Light in 50 Porcelain

Bourjois foundations are my favourites from the drugstore (Revlon Nearly Naked runs a close second) and I own 3 of them so I wanted to do a quick review on them in case you are in hunt for a new affordable base.

For very light coverage, super natural and luminous finish I would go for the Happy Light option. It is almost like a tinted moisturizer but with a tiny bit more coverage and it looks extremely natural. I did a review on it here in case you want to read about it in more detail. This one look a bit darker than the others and as if it had more coverage than what it actually has but I think I put too much for the swatch, you don’t be misled by that. Even if it is little bit darker, it is so light on the skin that once you blend it in, it is a very good match.

For light to medium coverage, Healthy Mix Serum fits the bill. Again, luminous and dewy but with more coverage. I have combination skin at the moment and even though this is my favourite when I first apply it, after some hours it seems as if it started moving around my face and accumulating in some areas and disappearing in others, looking not as good and fresh as it does during the first hours. Also, this is the one I need to powder the most throughout the day. I still love it, but out of the three it is my least favourite at the moment. In the photo above it looks as if this had less coverage than Happy Light but it is due to the tiny dollop I took to swatch this one and the flood I used for the Happy Light one.

Finally, for medium coverage the original Healthy Mix is fantastic. It might be the least luminous of the 3 but it is not matte whatsoever. It is the one that lasts the most on my skin, which is perfect when you know you have a long day ahead.

As I said before, I have combination skin and I get a bit oily throughout the day in the T-zone so I can’t avoid powder with these or any other foundation that I have. However, as long as you use a light hand your face will still look luminous with these foundations.

The shade range is not amazing, specially for dark skin people, I hope Bourjois bring new shades at some point. Shades in the Healthy Mix and Healthy Mix Serum are the same but the names and numbers for the Happy Light one changes. However, I think 50 Porcelain in the Happy Light foundation is equivalent to 52 Vanilla in the Healthy Mix one, as you can see from the swatches.

It is a bit difficult to get your hands on Bourjois in the US but we can always rely on ASOS. Even if I they are available in drugstores and department stores in Spain, I bought mine from ASOS because they don’t retail the lighter shades. I know you can easily get them in the UK and Ireland at Boots and you lucky people can even swatch it! 

These are great quality and affordable foundations so if you can’t or don’t want to spend a lot of money but you still want a nice base, Bourjois has always been a safe bet for me!

Have you tried any of these before?

