2013 Favourites

DSCF5138

Real techniques Expert Face Brush- MAC quad- Rimmel London Wake Me Up Concealer- Aveda Hydrating Lotion- MAC Pink Cult- Laura Mercier Silk Creme Foundation- Essie Lilacism- L’Oreal 24h Colour Infallible in Bottomless Java- MAC Patisserie

Yes, ladies and gentlemen, I narrowed it down to 10 products! I have cheated a little bit though because some of them stand for the brand or the category…I have loved a lot of products during last year but I wanted this to be a short post.

In terms of skincare, this was the year I started taking things seriously. I tried many products but my favourite discovery was the Aveda Botanical Kinetics range. I have the cleanser, exfoliant and now the hydrating lotion and I love the all, plus I think they all smell amazingly fresh and natural.

Now, I am a foundation junkie and I have to say that I usually don’t have great expectations when I buy them because at the end of the day they are all going to be less natural than your bare face, so I normally (more or less) like all the ones I have. However, Laura Mercier Silk Creme foundation was my first medium to full coverage foundation that looked natural-ish. It looks beautiful on the skin and you need a very small amount so it is worth the price. I love applying it with the Real Techniques Expert Face brush and this has been hands down my favourite brush this year. ¬†Finally, the Rimmel London Wake Me Up concealer is great because it has good coverage but also adds some luminosity to the under eye area.

For colour, this has also been the year I started experimenting with eye shadows, that’s why I included my MAC quad (non-risky colours at all). The L’Oreal 24h Colour Infallible eyeshadows had to be mentioned because they have an amazing quality and they are very affordable.

My favourite blush hue is definitely peachy pink but I would be lying if I included one here because as much as I love them, I don’t know why, MAC Pink Cult was my most used blush this year. MAC Patisserie was also my lipstick of choice most days since I got it (except for November when I only used Peach Blossom) and I think it won’t last a long time!

Finally, for nails, I discovered Essie nail polishes. I love them; my bank account, not so much. I love the colours, the quality and the packaging (they look so good all together…). It was difficult to pick just one but I think Lilacism was a good choice because I had never had a nail polish in this shade and I was super excited when I got it and wore it to death during summer!

That’s it, my 2013 favourites. It was veeery hard to cut it down to 10 products/ranges but I am very happy with the ones that made it to the top 10.

Happy New Year!

