Our make-up bag for the weekend

DSCF4270Tomorrow is Thanksgiving and even though it is not a tradition in Spain and that I cannot be with my family either, it is always nice to spend the day with some friends so we are travelling tomorrow to visit two friends who live in another state. It is a “road trip” and we will be five in the same car so space for luggage is going to be tight! Actually my friends have already given me the measures for my bag…

My girlfriend and I are trying to be reasonable with the amount of things that we pack so we decided to take only one make-up bag, in fact we are going to be spending time with our friends at home and having lovely walks so we don’t need tons of make-up! Don’t think it was an easy task to decide which products we were taking with us, so I wanted to show you what we considered the basics:

For foundation, we picked one that suits both our skin tones and skin types, MAC Studio Sculpt in NC20, but we couldn’t agree on powder so she is taking Revlon Colourstay Aqua in Translucent Light Medium and I chose MAC MSF in Light Plus. To hide our massive undereye circles I am trying to use up my old MAC Studio Sculpt concealer in NW20, but she loves her Yves Rocher one so we couldn’t agree on that one either. However, for a brightening concealer we will be sharing Rimmel Wake Me Up concealer in 030 Classic Beige. Finally, for a little bit of colour NARS Penny Lane is perfect because it is natural and easy to apply since it is a cream blush.

For eyes and brows, we will keep it very simple: the old Rimmel London eye pencil (for her mainly…I am still trying to master eye liner…), Maybelline Colour Tatoo cream eyeshadow in Bad to the Bronze which is nice and easy to apply, Maybelline Big Eyes Mascara which I bought recently and I like it a lot, and finally for brows we will brush them and fill them with Maybelline Master Shape pencil in Deep Brown and then set them with Maybelline Great Lash in Clear (it is actually a mascara but it is the most similar drugstore product I have found to a brow gel, I’m still not sure if I like it or not).

Even though we were pretty good at downsizing the previous categories, we could not agree on lipsticks. We have very different tastes when it comes to lip products so we have four in our make-up bag: she chose two Revlon Lip Butters, Berry Smoothie for a natural lip (that it the nudest she would go, which is not very nude actuallyl) and Wild Watermelon for a more bold option. I picked my new favourite pinky nude, MAC Peach Blossom and in case I want a bolder but not too out there lip, MAC See Sheer, which is a nice sheer red, not too bright but not subtle either, a good change from my everyday options for work.

Thanks for reading and I hope you have a lovely weekend with your friends and family. Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

